As auto accident attorneys here in South Carolina, we receive a number of questions about what rights passengers have when it comes to Uber and Lyft accidents. Specifically, a number of passengers don’t know how, exactly, they should proceed if there is a ridesharing accident.
Below, we discuss some steps you should take if you are involved in one of these accidents to make sure that you preserve the opportunity to seek compensation for any expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering that you experience.
Contact 9-1-1 and Obtain Accident Report
First, always make sure that in any accident where there are injuries and or damage to property such as vehicles you call 9-1-1 to the scene of the accident. This is important so that the scene is secured and the police interview everyone to find out what happened. From there, the police will make a determination that is documented in an accident report. This report is very important for your accident attorney to use in negotiations with the ridesharing company’s insurance firm, especially if their driver was at fault.
Choose the Right Auto Accident Attorney & Remaining Silent
Note that companies like Uber have $1 million insurance policies set to apply when a passenger is involved in an accident. Still, the company will likely resist paying any damages you have suffered, which makes speaking with an accident attorney absolutely necessary. As with any other accident, make sure you do not make any statements that could possibly be interpreted as admitting that you are OK and/or at fault for the accident, or offering or accepting a settlement until you speak with your attorney. This same rule also applies to social media: it is important to avoid discussing the accident on your social media post until your potential case is resolved.
Document Everything and See a Doctor
Also remember that, just like in any other accident, you want to make sure that you take pictures of everything, including any damage to vehicles, road conditions, traffic signals, signs, and other details. Similarly, write down and record any recollections you have of the accident, including every detail, such as whether your driver was distracted or breaking the speed limit when the accident occurred. If you were injured, make sure that you are treated within 24 hours of the accident so that any related injury is treated and documented in your records. Keep in mind that some injuries do not show symptoms until some time has passed after the accident, such as whiplash or certain types of concussions.
Contact Our Greenville, South Carolina Auto Accident Lawyers
Major car accidents can lead to a significant amount of suffering, and healing can take a long time. If this has happened to you or a loved one, you want to make sure that you consult with an experienced car accident attorney.
The Dan Pruitt Injury Law Firm has an experienced Greenville SC Car Accident Lawyer that can help. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.